What are Habitat Protection Areas?
Habitat Protection Areas (HPAs) are areas within the critical area that have been identified and designated for special protection through the critical area regulations. These areas include the critical area Buffer, non-tidal wetlands, habitats of threatened and endangered species and species in need of conservation, specific plant and wildlife habitats, and anadromous fish propagation waters. The Heritage Division of the Department of Natural Resources maintains maps and comprehensive data on the protected species, their habitats, and the locations of these habitats within the critical area.

Show All Answers

1. What is the Critical Area Program?
2. What are the critical area land classifications?
3. What is lot coverage and how does it affect my property?
4. If i buy a lot in the critical area, may I build a house on it?
5. If my home is in the critical area, will I be able to construct an addition or build a swimming pool, deck, or garage?
6. Can I remove trees from my property if it is in the critical area?
7. What are Habitat Protection Areas?
8. If I think I see a violation near the water, where do I call?
9. My property is in the RCA, can I create a lot to give to a family member?
10. What is a grandfathered lot? If my lot is grandfathered, am I exempt from the critical area regulations?
11. Are farming and timber harvesting exempt from the critical area regulations?
12. What is the Critical Area Commission?
13. Do I need to obtain the approval of the Critical Area Commission to build on my lot in the critical area?
14. What is the difference between local zoning ordinances and the state’s critical area law and regulations?
15. What is growth allocation?
16. What are FIDS?