Information > Historic Sacred Sites of QAC > Queenstown
Nestled between Queenstown Creek and Little Queenstown Creek, the picturesque village of Queenstown has retained its small town character and its historic courthouse. Townspeople have gathered near the courthouse square since the time of knee breaches and waistcoats and though styles have changed, town folk still gather at the post office or bank to share the latest news.
In 1707, the reigning monarch was Good Queen Anne of England, hence the village first took the name Queen Anne's Town. During those early years, until 1782, the town was the county seat and in addition to the courthouse, the town boasted a prison, whipping post, pillory, and Gallows Field. Today, only the courthouse remains.
Tobacco was the stock in trade and the Chester River was the highway of choice for transportation of goods. The harbor allowed the town to flourish into a shipping port that accommodated the surrounding plantations.
It was during the War of 1812 that the rag-tag men of Queenstown led approaching British soldiers outside of town where they hunkered in a ditch and fired upon the King’s men who panicked and fired upon themselves. This, the battle of Slippery Hill, allowed the local militia to escape to Centreville where reinforcements awaited.