Emergency Services

Posted on: September 15, 2017

QAC Telecommunicators of the Year


On September 14, 2017 several Public Safety Dispatchers from Queen Anne’s County were honored with being named Telecommunicator of the year by the Maryland Emergency Numbers System Board. Queen Anne’s County Telecommunicators of the Year are C-Shift team members: Lieutenant Brian Willey, Lieutenant Kevin Carson, Public Safety Dispatcher Debra Shelton and Public Safety Dispatcher William McKercher.

Just after midnight on December 29, 2016, Queen Anne's County Sheriff's Deputy First Class Scott Hogan was injured by a shotgun blast after responding to a domestic call for service. Communications "C"-Shift was working that evening when they heard the Deputy call out "shots fired, officer down!". The crew took immediate action and demonstrated true professionalism and teamwork to ensure the injured Deputy received the resources necessary to manage his life threatening injuries.

The four Telecommunicators who make up this shift, consistently perform their duties utilizing an active team work approach, while displaying compassion and concern for others. Despite the stressful conditions, the actions of these Telecommunicators and the first responders on the scene that night resulted in a positive outcome for the injured Deputy.

For more information about Queen Anne’s County Department of Emergency Services go to www.qacdes.com or follow us on social media.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Emergency Services

4.4 Magnitude Earthquake in Dover DE

Posted on: November 30, 2017

Fallen Hero Escort - 10/6/2017

Posted on: October 5, 2017

QACTV's Moving Tornado Video

Posted on: August 5, 2017

EOC Update - Donation Information

Posted on: July 25, 2017

Emergency Shelter Closing at Noon

Posted on: July 25, 2017

EOC Update - 7/25/17

Posted on: July 25, 2017

Storm Update

Posted on: July 24, 2017

Transportation to Emergency Shelter

Posted on: July 24, 2017

Transportation to Emergency Shelter

Posted on: July 24, 2017

EOC Update 1 - 7/24/17

Posted on: July 24, 2017
Xavier Martin

Fallen Hero Escort, June 29, 2017

Posted on: June 28, 2017
crop side honor g

DES Honor Guard at The Shorebirds

Posted on: June 6, 2017

Col. John Glenn, April 6th

Posted on: March 28, 2017