Boards & Commissions

Economic Development Commission

The Economic Development Commission (EDC) is an eleven (11) member body appointed by the Queen Anne's County Board of Commissioners whose mission is to advise on all matters concerning economic development in the county.  The vision of the EDC is to serve as a catalyst for the creation of quality employment opportunities in the County and to foster the growth of the county's commercial tax base.

The EDC adopted its 10-Year Strategic Plan in January 2015 (click here) and its Strategic Action Plan for 2017 - 2022 and with it the 6 Driving Strategies:

  •    Focus on High Potential Economic Activity Sectors
  •    Support Education and Workforce Development
  •    Enhance Infrastructure
  •    Promotion and Public Awareness
  •    Encourage Affordable and Workforce Housing
  •    Enhance Quality of Life

2018 Economic Development Commission Officers:

Chairman:  Eric Hoffman                               Secretary:   Helen Bennett

Vice Chairman:  William Tumulty                   Treasurer:   Royce Herman

Board Members:  Nancy LaJoice; Kathy Deodes; Don Gross; Jesse Parks; Bill Stoops; Jim Brown; and Steve Donovan.

Jack Wilson is the County Commissioner Liaison for Economic and Tourism Development.

The Commission meets the 4th Wednesday of every month at 9 a.m. at the Chesapeake Heritage and Visitor Center, in the Barrett Room, located at 425 Piney Narrows Road, Chester, MD.  (Click here for 2018 EDC Meeting Schedule). 

EDC 10-Year Economic Strategic Plan 

EDC Action Plan 2017-2022

EDC 2018 Meeting Schedule

Economic Development Incentive Fund Commission 

The Queen Anne’s County Economic Development Incentive Fund Commission (EDIFC) is a five (5) member Board appointed by the County Commissioners: (1) to develop attainable goals and objectives for use of the Economic Development Incentive Funds that will incentivize existing Queen Anne’s County businesses to expand within the county, (2) to identify program options and economically viable alternatives consistent with said goals and objectives, (3) to develop policies, procedures, processes and applications to implement and approve programs and alternatives, (4) to market the incentive fund options to the public and potential business entities and (5) to accept, review and approve project applications. 

The EDIFC meets once a month. generally the third Monday of the month,  at the Liberty Building in the County Commissioner Hearing Room, 107 North Liberty Street, Centreville MD 21617. For more information and monthly meeting dates, please call 410-604-2100.

The EDIF Commission members are: Michael Whitehill, Chairman; Chris Corchiarino, Vice Chairman; Debbie Scott; Bill Walmsley; and Gregg Todd, County Administrator.  

EDIF Information